Well, my husband, two sons and a daughter-in-law have a blog so I thought I would give it a try.  I had always wondered why one would put their thoughts out there for everyone to see or who would even want to read them.  However, I have found it fascinating to peek into the lives of some of the bloggers out there.  Many have been generous sharing their knowledge and I have gotten some wonderful ideas for crafting and seen some yummy looking recipes.

My family and friends are scattered from coast to coast so maybe through my blog they can see a little of what I am up to.  I had a productive weekend sewing (more about that later) and baking some cookies.  Here’s a peek.

Carron's "Killer" Cookies & Snickerdoodles

Carron's "Killer" Cookies & Snickerdoodles

The “Killer” cookies came from this month’s Family Circle.  I did not have the Rice Krispies so I used crushed Rice Chex instead.  I think I will also add some chopped nuts next time.  Here’s the recipe:

Carron’s “Killer” Cookies

1 ½

cups all-purpose flour

1

teaspoon baking soda

1

teaspoon baking powder

1

teaspoon salt

1

cup vegetable shortening

1

cup granulated sugar

1

cup light-brown sugar

2

eggs

1

teaspoon vanilla extract

2

cups old-fashioned oats

2

cups Rice Krispies cereal

1

cup sweetened flake coconut

1

bag (6 oz.) semisweet chocolate chips (1 cup)

 

  1. Heat oven to 350° F.  Place parchment paper on baking sheets and set aside.  (I used my Silpat sheets instead of parchment paper.)
  2. In a small bowl, blend flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt with a whisk; set aside.
  3. In large bowl, beat shortening and both sugars on medium-high speed about 3 minutes or until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.
  4. On low speed, gradually add flour mixture and beat until just combined.  Stir in oats, Rice Krispies, coconut and chocolate chips.
  5. Form balls with 2 tablespoons of dough and place 2 inches apart on prepared sheet.  Bake at 350° for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool on sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack and cool completely.
